This is an advertisement
Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here

Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

Granny

RO Advice
« on: October 01, 2021, 07:17:06 am »
Hi
Been using this Pentair PRF (Merlin) the water is about 280 out of the tap the product is 20 and that's it.
The flow rate is fine for me as I don't use a lot of water.
I think it's because of low pressure I don't know what the pressure is but there is no Woooooosh when you turn on the tap and the toilet is slow filling.
I've been using Double DI with water at 100 TDS for 10 years so I can live with 20 TDS.
My question is:
Will the low pressure and high output TDS shorten the life of the membrane or will it prolong the life of the membrane because it's not purifying to it's max potential?

AuRavelling79

Re: RO Advice
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2021, 08:16:56 am »
Hi
Been using this Pentair PRF (Merlin) the water is about 280 out of the tap the product is 20 and that's it.
The flow rate is fine for me as I don't use a lot of water.
I think it's because of low pressure I don't know what the pressure is but there is no Woooooosh when you turn on the tap and the toilet is slow filling.
I've been using Double DI with water at 100 TDS for 10 years so I can live with 20 TDS.
My question is:
Will the low pressure and high output TDS shorten the life of the membrane or will it prolong the life of the membrane because it's not purifying to it's max potential?
In general terms the higher the pressure the better. I have a meter and a pressure gauge on mine. My pressure ranges from about 50 psi to 70 psi.
Most important is changing the carbon filter.

In Bristol TDS is usually about 300. During September my input was up at over 400. I think Bristol uses rain water from the Welsh hills and from Somerset and when it's dry weather the TDS goes up.