Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here
Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

Keith Dobson

Sole Trader or Limited Company?
« on: November 12, 2006, 11:54:15 am »
Hi everyone I'm interested in the Carpet Cleaning business and an absolute newbie, I would like your advice as to start up as a Ltd. company or as a sole trader? I have been on few of the government websites and it's as clear as mud. I would appreciate your opinions and what are the pros and con's for each?

Thanks Keith. ???

carpetguy

Re: Sole Trader or Limited Company?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2006, 03:19:32 pm »
Most definitely...............do not go down the Ltd road.............not at least, for a few years, if ever

robbie

Keith Dobson

« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2006, 07:14:55 pm »
First of all I must apologise for posting this message in the wrong section sorry guys! :-[

Robbie, could you please elaborate a bit more as to why? As I have been advised to go Ltd. from the off if you know what I mean? Is it down to cost or taxes or what? Or is it just personal choice? Come on guys I need some help I need to get started soon. Your advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Keith.  ???

carpetguy

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2006, 12:29:51 am »
The only reason for becoming a Ltd Co is to protect your assets in the event of failure.....but you are very unlikely to be in a position, where you owe anyone money in this business, in fact, you are more likely to find the opposite applies.

If you set up a Limited co, you then become an employee, with PAYE  liability, income tax liability, on a monthly basis.

As a partner or sole trader, you have a full 12 months before you have to submit accounts and your tax liability is likely to be zero in the first year, at least.