UK Floor Cleaning Forum > Carpet Cleaning Forum

Thinking about starting a carpet cleaning Business

(1/3) > >>

Supreme clean window cleaning:
Hello I have been doing window cleaning for the last 12 years and have done very well in the past. But have torn my two front Arteries going to my brain making me very Sick over the past three months , and itís going to take six months to heal. Iíve have employed staff now to do the windows and am looking at starting a new Business carpet cleaning Iím looking at going on training courses and buying the best kit to start with i was wondering is there enough work out there to make it full time I have a large customer base of over 800 with the windows so hoping to get a few from that.  If any of you could help me on the best machines to buy and some tips to bring in the work I would really appreciate these three months have been hell so stressful as have family to provide for but canít do the windows any more because not allowed to look up and donít fancy going back to the windows full time again in case it happens again. Many thanks Matt👍

Mike Halliday:
I was a carpet cleaner for about 20yrs before deciding that I no longer wanted to offer that service, now I would never advice anyone to start a in carpet cleaning.

2 reasons, the knowledge required to offer a premium service that allows you to charge a premium price is just to hard to acquire. The vast amount of carpet & fibre  types is huge manufactures are producing crap that is made for appearance rather than its ability to be cleaned a minefield for an inexperienced operator, the only place in the industry now is for the new starter is as a cheap  Ďmiss mopí cleaner who does a bit of everything. You cannot train other people to a standard required to make good money