This is an advertisement
Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here

Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

Boba80

Biocide chemicals compatible for pressure washer use?
« on: November 23, 2020, 11:07:19 am »
Hi guys,

Currently scraping/brushing the moss off my roof using a extension pole and scraper.

I plan to treat it with a biocide containing BAC-50 or DDAC once im done removing the the majority of the moss.

Im not a professional so dont have a long reach water fed pole to get the product to the top of the ridge.
I plan to use a karcher pressure washer (at low pressure) to dispense the premixed biocide from a barrel but im unsure if the chemicals will damage the internals of the machine?

I'm  far as im aware, products containing chlorine (bleach) are no good for pressure washers as it can damage the seals but not sure about  products containing Benzalkonium chloride or DDAC (hopefully someone with better chemistry knowledge can differentiate between chlorine and chloride!).

Does anyone have any advice on whether either can be used from a domestic pressure washer without damaging it?

I found this info to suggest that Bac 50 might be okay to use through the machine.

Any advice welcome

p.s ive got an access tower so ill be working from the roof line so the low pressure setting should be enough to reach the ridge (about 4.5 metres).

Mike Halliday

Re: Biocide chemicals compatible for pressure washer use?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2020, 01:37:51 pm »
The dilution of quats is so low it won’t effect the pump, but you will use far too much chemical and have massive drift and overspray using a pressure washer
Mike Halliday.  www.henryhalliday.co.uk

Splash & dash

« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2020, 01:51:13 pm »