This is an advertisement
Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here

Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

AuRavelling79

Cracker of a story ...
« on: March 10, 2020, 11:54:20 pm »
I do some small blocks of flats for a property management guy that looks after a few landlords. One of these is four flats in a four storey 1860's house at No. 5 __________ Road in Clifton, Bristol. I've been doing them for over 5 years on a quarterly basis.

Parking is sometimes difficult with a narrow road and permit only parking. As I only take 30 minutes or so and if you are genuinely there working the residents understand, I always take my chances.

Yesterday I turn up and there is half a space plus a neighbouring (No. 6) driveway  next to the property  and I pull into the half-space with the rear of my van about one third of the way across the neighbour's driveway but with room for the small car in it to get out if I close my van doors.

There is a "worker" loading the car and I explain that I will only be thirty minutes or so but that at anytime I can move to let him out if "it's a bit tight."

With that the owner and his wife come out and I politely explain my predicament and ask their permission to park there with the assurance I can move at any point.

The wife says "Who are you cleaning the windows for?" and I tell her that it's her next door neighbour. (No. 5)

Her: "Oh no! I'm not letting you clean their windows they're awful neighbours!"
Me: "Sorry????"
Him: "We've got history with them - I'm not letting you park there!"
Me: "Well actually I'm doing it for the landlord's agent; I'm not going to be long and I can move at any point."
Him: "No. Sorry. I won't allow it."
Me: "Well that seems rather unreasonable, I'm only trying to do my job."
Him: "You don't know the history."