Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here
Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

Sallysqueak

Complete newbie doing initial research
« on: October 05, 2017, 01:34:19 pm »
Hi all

Not wanting to start a thread which has already been done here, but I can't seem to find an existing one, so please don't take offence at my very 'newbie' questions.

I'm at the very early stages of researching into whether carpet cleaning could be a viable business for me to set up. By that, I mean is it profitable enough. I wonder, could anyone give me any advice on the average profit margins of a job, or do you know of a business plan template for a one-woman set up?

The marketing doesn't worry me too much - I do it in my day job at the moment, and the business side is no issue, I've run my own business in the past. I'm just finding it difficult to get an idea of profitability after taking into account running a machine and its chemicals. All the articles I find online are very generic and I don't feel have been written by a person 'in the know'.

I don't intend at this stage to employ anyone to help me, so my plan is very simple. Just me, offering carpet cleaning services to both residential and commercial clients, including letting agents for a bit of regularity.

So, what do you think? A viable way of earning a decent income to replace my current full time job (which pays in the region of £20k+/year, or ridiculous to think I would manage to earn that amount of profit from this alone whilst working around 35 hours a week at it?

It would be great to hear some advice from people in the know :)

Thanks!

John Kelly

Re: Complete newbie doing initial research
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2017, 02:02:12 pm »
Drop me an email and I'll put you in touch with a girl in your situation 5 years ago and now has a very viable business with staff.