Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here
Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

jeff1

Had a go at my own sign writing today
« on: June 26, 2009, 07:02:18 pm »
I bought the boss a new machine this week for her hobby of card making and the things it cuts? Card, (obviously)  hardboard, along with a host of other things to long to go into, it engraves and even writes but what caught my eye was that it cuts vinyl so I bought some vinyl from the same company and gave it a bash today and the pictures below shows the Tank I have to fit into my daughters van so Just for a test I put the sign on her tank for her.

Its my very first attempt so go easy on me lol the machine did make a mess of some of the vinyl so I binned that, I have a sneaky feeling that the vinyl supplied is cheap stuff so wouldn't last five minutes out side so I have ordered some 5/7 year stuff from ebay to see if its any better, what do you guy's think??
Shame the boss hasn't had a go on her new machine yet Lol

Ian Lancaster

Re: Had a go at my own sign writing today
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2009, 07:47:52 pm »
The hard part is getting the spacing right - you need a machine that cuts the characters and then sticks them face side down on to a paper backing so when you take the adhesive protective film off, you just place the whole lot on the vehicle and the letters are in the right places.

Shouldn't cost you more than about 3 grand ;D ;D ;D

jeff1

« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2009, 07:54:10 pm »
when you cut the vinyl you apply your own transfer backing so the characters stay in the right place when you apply them even with the 3 grand machine you have to apply the backing this way.

The hardest part is getting the cutting depth and pressure correct so you don't cut through the backing sheet  :'(

Window Washers

« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2009, 08:36:38 pm »