ChInEaPpLe PuNkS

Scrimless window cleaning - does anyone do it?
« on: January 03, 2005, 08:50:23 pm »
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the window cleaning game.  Just setting up my round and its coming on well. But I've a question - and I'm sure you knowledgeable lot can help. I've heard of a local window cleaner who only applicates and squeegees; that's it, window done, no scrimming. He's well established with a large round. Is this common practice? I'd like to take it up myself but I'd leave with a window that's a bit messy around the edges. Now your probably all thinking "No he's just good with his squeegee.... dog - eared" etc, but thats not true. He does leave it a bit messy around the edges - but boy does he get round some houses. Can you get away with this or would customers complain? Do any of you guys do it this way. I'd love to stay with traditional window cleaning, just without the scrimming.

Thanks

Jon

matt

Re: Scrimless window cleaning - does anyone do it?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2005, 08:57:28 pm »
i know of a few who dont scrim, they just leave whatever they miss, they all have a BIG well established round, they turn up when they should, and people want that

its all down to training

personally i cringe when i see the work, BUT as they have said, they earn more than me, and its all down to training the customers

Tussin

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2005, 09:04:51 pm »
If he dont scrim round the window and leavin it messy then he's probably charging them peanuts, cos they dont seem to be complaining. Personnally I scrim top and both sides but usually never bottom, it only takes a second and customers do like it.
Tussin

Philip Hanson

« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2005, 09:34:03 pm »
What Matt says is true.  Partly the ability to squeegee without "detailing" (wiping round with a scrim or microfibre cloth) comes with practice.  Do it often enough and you'll find you're able to leave the edges clean without any mistakes.