ArchieHughes

Another newbie sorry guys.
« on: August 09, 2010, 05:13:03 pm »
I have been a member of here for a couple of weeks now and read up alot trying to get all the information I was after. I do have a few questions I am wondering if people would be so kind to help with.

Firstly I am looking to start a reach & wash window cleaning business. I have never done this before and really don't have a great ideWa on equipment etc.

Their would be 2 of us starting off, I wanted to start off by myself and pay the other lad who is just 17 (i'm 30 by the way) cash at the most £50 a day to help out until such time I would hope to grow the business to a stage where we might bee more than 1 vehicle but that is an age away at the moment.

In the area I live in £7 for a 3 bed semi is what I can get away with, We have a guy in my street with traditional ladders and bucket etc who charges £5.5 so think for a reach & wash this is what I can hope to get.

Here are my questions

1) I am looking to work between school hours 9-3pm and was hoping between the two of us to do 36 houses a day providing they are close enough to each other, Is this a realistic figure to do this many in the time scale?

2) Start up costs, To hold a 400ltr tank could I get away with a smaller van like a combo etc and what sort of realistic start up costs to get all equipment and van for I have quoted from 2k upto 5.5k

3) Getting money from people, Does anyone offer a discount if people are able to pay for let's say 6 months in advance, Does anyone have any tips on how to get money from customers other than kncoking on doors as this can take a lot of time and often be messed around, Does anyone take payment online via a website etc?

4) During the winter months are their any other sides to the business that people do as most people do not really care about their windows being cleaned during those winter months.