Phil Mitchell

1st day went ok
« on: March 28, 2006, 05:02:54 pm »
Thanks for all your advice last week. Started cleaning for money yesterday and feel it went ok. Im way to slow but wanted to make sure I done a good job. I cleaned all their frames thinking if I do it this once it should make my life alot easier next month. Still can't get the hang of squeegeing. When I'm working above my head Ialways leave smears on the right hand side of the window but when working level or below I cruise through it, any ideas? Today I was quicker but still taking too long although I did manage two 3 bed semi in 1 hour.
Im aching all over now, hopefully the wife will give me a massage, the life of a window cleaner eh!

RO-Sheen

Re: 1st day went ok
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2006, 05:11:54 pm »
Well done mate, Im a newbie myself but I am using the wfp system! Had some lessons from other window cleaners in the past with squeegees but the best bit of advise was from Woodley Washers who told me to let your wrist do all the work. Try it, its alot easier if you concentrate on that! (at least - I think he was referring to squeegee work!!!!) 
Formerly known as GARGAAX

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2006, 05:14:50 pm »

Im aching all over now,

I remember that.  I left the army to become a window cleaner, so was fairly fit, however after my first couple of days I felt like I'd been giving a 'good kicking'.

My hands hurt, shoulders ached and I couldn't stretch my arm to lift an item from a top-shelf'.

Stick with it though; your body will adapt; along with your technique.

It just takes a bit of time, practice and determination.

Good luck!

Sir Squeaky

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2006, 05:41:45 pm »
Nice one Phil. :)
Well done for not giving up already.

I remember those first few days(or weeks), it's quite a shock how much it takes out of you.

As the others have said it gets much better after a while and you'll suffer much less. ;)