Jim Gibbard

Website Questions & Answers
« on: January 20, 2009, 04:50:50 pm »
Hi Guys,
I have been following the threads on Website topics and would particularly like to add my comments on the thread started on Jan 14th. by Mike Osbourne - What Is a Website For ?  Sorry it's a bit long, that's why I started a new thread, but I hope it helps with website related queries.

My day job is cleaning and the internet is my hobby.  I have been involved with the internet for a couple of years now and have learned about and practiced building websites & SEO ( search engine optimisation ) techniques.  I hope some or any of the answers may help someone.

Mike Halliday  Jan 14th.
I'm having a website done, but I'm not sure what direction it should take.

Is a website a way to educate customers on what we do or is it an introduction to the company so potential customers know who you are.  Mine at the moment is more about the company and just gives a short over view of what we actually do. it is a 'pretty' design with just the basics of what the customer needs to know.  When it’s finished I'll put up a link.

Comment:
A website serves many purposes.  It is a way to enlighten customers who have never had carpets professionally cleaned – there are still many about.   About what to look out for when choosing a cleaner etc;  Plus something about the company they are hopefully going to be dealing with – building credibility & honesty.  Altogether, selling your company and putting money in the bank.

Derek West

mike,
look at it as an extension of your advertising, for all those bits you can't fit on your leaflet or 1 liner in a free ads paper.
Derek

Comment:
Dead right.  Who can afford full colour leaflets with pretty pictures?  Two colour yes,