Rob_B

How big is your pointer?
« on: October 21, 2003, 05:43:57 pm »
Hello all,

I've been making do with bog standard ladders for a year now, and after a lot of uming and aring I am going to buy a pointer.

I was looking at a set 2.05 metres closed 5.33 metres fully extended. ( sorry oldies, I haven't a clue how big that is in old money)

i mostly do residential a lot of bay windows.
Does this size sound about right, or will they be too big and bulky.
What's a safe height to go up to on a pointer, I have never used one before?

STEVE71163

Re: How big is your pointer?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2003, 05:52:41 pm »
Hi Rob,
         I mostly use a 3.66m (Double 12ft) and this is fine for most residential jobs.

Hope this Helps!

Steve

Rob_B

« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2003, 06:11:48 pm »
Cheers Steve,

Hmm thats even bigger than what I was looking at which I thought might be too big and clumsy. Quite a bit of difference in price too. Any idea why pointers are so dear?

STEVE71163

« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2003, 06:17:04 pm »
Hi Rob,
         No i don't know why they are so much more expensive but i would not be without one because they are so much safer on uneven ground and they can get where a standard ladder can not.

Steve Lowe

Rob_B

« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2003, 06:21:12 pm »
Yes,

I have noticed a lot of people mention that they are safer which is why I'm going to purchase one. thanks for your time.

« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2003, 08:31:45 pm »
Hi Rob
when you say pointers do you mean A-frame ladders
Cheers Alan

Rob_B

« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2003, 08:49:11 pm »
Hi alan,

Yes I do mean A frame ladders, I said pointer because the ladders I'm getting are called a Monarch Wooden Pointer by Titan.

« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2003, 09:01:40 pm »
Hi Rob