Russell Baillie

Advertising help
« on: February 03, 2009, 12:49:49 pm »
Hi guys,

This site has been a great help to me, thanks for all those who contribute.

Can i ask what is peoples main means of getting business?

i have been leaflet dropping for the last year putting out thousands of leaflets, my returns have been quite good generally generating one or two jobs per houndred but i recently put out over 2000 leaflets and havn't had one lousy call :(

so .... what methods and means do you use to advertise, excluding word of mouth and what sort of response do you get?

i'm looking for about 30 jobs a month if that is at all possible?

thanks
russell

derek west

Re: Advertising help
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2009, 01:07:43 pm »
russel
i'm new to the business but have quickly realised that no advertisig really works well in january, this is the time where most rely on repeats and referals.
looks like january is a time for marketing your database. i'm hoping mid february and early march will get back to normal and leaflets and other forms of ads will work just as well as usual taking into consideration the down turn though.
just my thoughts.
get ready for a mixed bag of advice.
which is a good thing as it will give you lots of ideas.
derek

JandS

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2009, 01:26:29 pm »
Do people really get that many repeats and referrals.
I've had a few butnot the amount some claim on here.
Best scource of work for me last year was local, paid for ads in 5 local papers with approx 70,000 readership.

John

Impossible done straight away, miracles can take a little longer.

Russell Baillie

« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2009, 01:39:54 pm »
thanks guys,

when you say readership of 70000 is that the total between the five papers? roughly how many jobs were you pulling in with that?

its something i havn't tried yet as our advertising rates are quite expensive for what you get in return!

but... if i were to be pulling in the jobs i really wouldn't mind!!!