heritagecleaning

Big setback today- need a strategy going forward
« on: February 11, 2013, 08:33:41 pm »
Well, I'm certanly feeling sorry for myself this evening and humbly seeking some advice as to how to go forward.

I've been doing office cleaning contracts for over 10 years now and combining this with carpet cleaning as and when the work came in. The thing is the office contract work has been slowly dropping off. Today I lost a big job which leaves me with very little regular work and plenty of time off!

I've always enjoyed the carpet cleaning much more than emptying people's bins at 5am for no thanks, and so I have decided that pushing carpet cleaning full time will be my way forward.

I have a clean 5 year old Berlingo van, I have all the CC gear and a new website going online in mid March. I'm BICS/NCCA trained and a TACCA member. I have a mailshot ready to go out to 50 ish local lettings/estate agents. Hopefully this will give me a good start, but I am confused as to what combination of things to do as an ongoing monthly strategy and how much I should be spending. I do have savings but I am frightened of pumping these into an advertising black hole due to my own ignorance.

Anyone care to point me in the right direction?

Thanks guys

Owen

Shaun_Ashmore

Re: Big setback today- need a strategy going forward
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 08:53:23 pm »
Mail everyone you know every month regularly, you've been used to regular programmed work but cc has no real contract so there's no comfort zone in that respect but if you keep a 'train' of marketing going every month then every month you'll get a regular income.

Shaun

dek

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2013, 10:32:47 pm »
owen
you sound like you have your head scweded on and know how to run a business.exploit your contacts they all have carpets.Get out and knock commercial doors,tell them what you can do.IMHO forget leaflets adds etc.and use the pesonal approach.

Simon Gerrard