D4ch0l

CRB ckeck
« on: September 30, 2013, 05:40:21 pm »
Hi guys,

I am new to employing people. I know it is recommended to do DBS check (previously called CRB), therefore I would like to ask you to give me some advice, maybe some websites clearly explaining how to do it, etc. Do I have to pay anything to do DBS check on someone? Can I do it online?

Many Thanks,
Adam

pristineclean

Re: CRB ckeck
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2013, 03:40:52 pm »
https://www.gov.uk/find-dbs-umbrella-body

It's a divided subject, though - I only carry out checks where this requirement is imposed by contract or a particular feature of the working environment. It's my opinion only, and many people differ, but a criminal record doesn't necessarily imply dishonesty and absence of a criminal record doesn't necessarily imply honesty. I was astonished, and a little bit saddened, to learn that some companies even carry out credit checks on employees, the apparent principle being that if you can't pay your credit card bill then you'll steal a client's computer.

D4ch0l

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2013, 04:24:57 pm »
Right, so it is not something I have to do every time when I employ someone. Good to know

Thank you for your help.

Adam

Rosemary Bolton

« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2013, 06:22:54 pm »
I just ask them to declare unspent criminal convictions (although I guess if they are a criminal they will probably lie about this). I only DBS check at specific request of client (eg childrens nursery) and I make the client cover the cost of this.

D4ch0l

« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2013, 07:16:27 am »
Thanks Rosemary, that makes sense, and brights things up.

Regards,
Adam

D4ch0l

« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2013, 04:53:37 pm »
Hi guys,