Clean Cloth

How long do you wait for business payment?
« on: January 15, 2020, 02:13:03 pm »
I mostly clean residential properties every 4 weeks, I do clean for a caravan park weekly but the owners pay on the day unless they are off site, but I know I will get paid the next week.

I clean a Methodist Church 8 weekly at their request. It is awkward access but only takes me 20 minutes and I charge £15. I know some of you would not get out of bed for that but if I can earn £25-£30 an hour with my non compact round I am happy. (New work is getting priced higher).

On the day I clean the Church, I write a ticket and drop it into the Treasurers house on the way home, I have been cleaning them for over 18 months and was hoping I would get the cheque (they wont do bank transfer or cash) with a week or 2. First time I had to telephone the treasurer after 6 weeks of no payment, other cleans I have had to wait between 2 and 5 weeks. I just got a cheque hand posted from the work I did 8 weeks ago. She lives 2 minutes drive from me.

How long do you give businesses to pat up?

I was due to clean then last Monday but as the cheque had not arrived then I did not clean them.
The only reason I am hesitant to drop them is because I was asked last year to price for cleaning out their gutters (45 meters and some grass growing out of them in places), I quoted £180 but never heard anything.

Richard iSparkle

Re: How long do you wait for business payment?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2020, 02:21:51 pm »
Unless you agree a payment date, the customer must pay you within 30 days of getting your invoice or the goods or service.

I use Xero for my books and I send the invoice from Xero, and then they get 5 automatic reminders to pay. once they pass that date I'll send them a warning email and then add charges 2 weeks after that

so the final reminder goes out 52 days after the invoice date and then i give them another 2 weeks

iSparkle Window Cleaning

www.isparklewindowcleaning.uk

NWH