groundhog

Whats wrong with the resin?
« on: July 29, 2015, 10:02:16 am »
Hi Guys, I have been using wfp for over 10 years now and used to have an ROman 450 unit which was superb and in all the years I had it I only got through one bag of resin. I now have a purefreedom 950, and have had it about a year and I am constantly buying resin and pre filters. It seems to be getting worse, and my last bag of resin has only lasted a month! Is it the quality of the resin? Any ideas? as this is costing me a fortune!!  :(

Smurf

Re: Whats wrong with the resin?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2015, 10:24:53 am »
Depends on the tds output of your ro I suppose and what size di tank you use would also has an impact on how long any resin would last. The higher the flow rate the more resin you can get through too.

Have you tried twin di tanks or more after the ro instead of changing the resin when it creeps up past zero?

groundhog

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2015, 05:10:51 pm »

Have you tried twin di tanks or more after the ro instead of changing the resin when it creeps up past zero?
It is more than creeping past zero, it shoots up to over 100!

Smurf

« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2015, 05:19:34 pm »

It is more than creeping past zero, it shoots up to over 100!

What is your tap tds as something don't sound right to me.

Spruce

« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2015, 05:20:22 pm »
What is your tds input from the tap?

What is your tds output after the r/o but before the di vessel?

What is your pure to waste water ratio?
Success is 1% inspiration, 98% perspiration and 2% attention to detail!

The older I get, the better I was ;)

slap bash

« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2015, 06:40:04 pm »
When did you last replace your membrane,  and had you tried a new brand of membrane..

Dave Willis

« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2015, 06:58:52 pm »
Don't suppose your pumping waste water through your resin and dumping pure down the drain?

Spruce

« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2015, 08:30:12 pm »