Richie wake

starting out advice
« on: March 30, 2014, 08:38:37 am »
Hi guys,
Im currently working as a brickie on site and am thinking about approaching the build manager and asking about cleaning the show house windows then from there canvass each new home owner on that site.
there are 175 houses going on there and all are 2-3-4 bed homes.
il add i am just starting out and am currently earning on average £20 ph for a back breaking 8hr shift.
so here are my questions.
Q1. does this idea of mine sound likely to succeeed?
Q2. ideally id like to be earning £30 ph upwards so how much should i charge per house / per window the work is in the birmingham area and i will be working traditional at least to get started?
Q3. how do i go about pricing the show house taking into account its on a dusty building site and how often should i offer my service
Q4. any help on pricing window cleaning / fascias sofit & guttering in the birmingham area would be greatly appreciated.

robertphil

Re: starting out advice
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2014, 08:47:13 am »
better to just do old houses not brand new as new are full of dirt paint and allsorts .        dont delay or doubts creep in  so you should be door knocking today!

pound a window should get you work is about average in england

deeege

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2014, 09:01:21 am »
The showhome and sales office will probably already be getting cleaned as part of a contract, the site manager won't have any say in this. Who's the builder?

Just get out there canvassing, both the new estate and other areas where you want to work, there's plenty of work out there for those determined enough to get it!
"....and it's lend me ten pounds, I'll buy you a drink, and mother wake me early in the morning."

Paul Coleman

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2014, 09:03:28 am »
Just wondering what happened to that round you bought in 2012?