JohnL

Rejection Rate
« on: June 14, 2006, 09:58:18 pm »
Having read the Merlin v Ro-Man discussion on another thread the rejection rate arose. I am new to WFP and from what I read am I right in deducing the fact that to make 1 gallon of water their is a wastage of 3 gallons? Now when I say wastage is their no use for the 'discarded water' in some way or another?

JohnL
West Somerset. On the edge of the Quantocks and looking at The Exmoor National Park.

jouk45

Re: Rejection Rate
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2006, 10:10:41 pm »
yes water your garden plants,

Chris Cottrell

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2006, 10:14:08 pm »
you could pass it through another r/o membrane (increase production water - reduce waste to pure ratio

I changed 100 gpd ro-man setup to 200 gpd and changed waste ratio from 5:1 to 1.25:1  8)

Chris

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2006, 10:19:12 pm »
1 gallon of water their is a wastage of 3 gallons

No it depends on the flow of water you have as the beter the flow rate the less waste you will produce.

I ahve a merlin rate of 1:2 but you can put your water bill against you tax bill and with a merlin you can fill your onboard tank anywhere without having to have a static tank

Roy Harding

« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2006, 10:32:15 pm »
John

The problem with the waste water is it has all the impurites from the water that has gone through the r/o to make the pure water, so the TDS reading in the waste water will be very high.

So even if you fillter it again your fillters and r/o will have to work even harder to get rid of the impurites, hence a shorter life span.

Roy

JohnL

« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2006, 10:48:30 pm »
OK

btw i have a TDS of 75 from the tap,  thats taking a reading from 3 consecutive days, each at least twice a day at different times. Would that make any difference to what I could do with it?    ;)

JohnL
West Somerset. On the edge of the Quantocks and looking at The Exmoor National Park.

mark dew

« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2006, 10:59:10 pm »
OK