howardcleaners

trailers and traffic wardens
« on: June 03, 2005, 09:07:22 pm »
Hi I have been thinking about the NCP Traffic wardens in my area does any one know the law on parking a trailer on yellow lines as I have been told that I can make a trailer up small 1 and pull walk it around the town with my ladders on and they can not ticket me for this as long as I hide the number plate and park the van up else where going back in time to when there was no cars, as we have the blue devils wardens started less than 2 months ago and today said they have handed out 2500 tickets and thats them taking it easy untill the locals get used to the change, all window cleaners are ticketed with in 1 minute of getting out of the van no loading time. so I been trying to think of a way to beat them anfd carrie on working.  Torbay area

baldeagle

Re: trailers and traffic wardens
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2005, 11:45:19 pm »
I'm no lawyer, but I studied laws of contract for three years when I was a Clerk of Works.

I presume that parking regulations only apply to those vehicles which come within the Road Traffic Act - eg are registered, [thus have a logbook, tax, insurance]; and trailers probably come under the same regulations when connected to a vehicle and fitted with reflectors, lights etc.

It therefore follows that a "trailer" when not so connected is no longer a trailer and becomes a barrow or handcart, etc, and not liable, [except for obstruction, of course].
If it were liable, then so would be a perambulator, pushchair, wheelchair etc.

The only Caveat to all that is; bear in mind that policing and so-called "Traffic Management" nowadays is very little to do with upholding the law, and much to do with grabbing a £60/£80 fine, and getting a pat on the head from the Chief Const, [I think I've abbreviated that correctly], and a dog biscuit!
There - that's my piece!!

Baldeagle in Staffordshire
"John the Window Cleaner."
A business founded during the Elizabethan age.

Londoner