Smudger

Re: Slick connect
« Reply #20 on: March 11, 2019, 08:41:58 pm »
ok - just so I understand the tubeless system - there is a connector inside the pole end and you then connect your pole hose to this which travels up the pole when you extend it - correct?

Darran
A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.

www.oddbodscleaning.co.uk

DeLuce

« Reply #21 on: March 11, 2019, 09:11:39 pm »
Yeah, that's right Darren.
The top section pole has a stop washer bung which attaches to the base of the top section. This should remain stuck in position. The hose that runs through this top section goes off to the gooseneck,and at the base  with the bung, this is where the rectus male fitting is attached. The 'o' clip is what holds it in position against the bung.
I hope that makes sense, I'm not good at explaining things like this.
I should get some pictures up.

DeLuce

« Reply #22 on: March 11, 2019, 09:17:19 pm »
Btw, if you run hot systems, I've found the plastic on the Slick-Connect deteriorates quite quickly and snaps off, and also, if you use rollers on your reel, the connector might not slide through them. It's quite bulky. I went through two very quickly.
I now use rectus male -female fitting, tape it up with gaffer tape so it doesn't catching the floor or disconnect when reeling in. It then fits through my rollers too.

Smudger

« Reply #23 on: March 11, 2019, 09:35:42 pm »
ok - thx

so I would now have mini bore going up inside the pole - I don’t like the thought of that  :(

the other problem I see (looking a squeaky Dave video) is how would I change the gooseneck as the stop bung wouldn't allow the gooseneck to pull out
(Edited - missed out don’t)
Darran
A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.

nathankaye

« Reply #24 on: March 11, 2019, 09:40:02 pm »
Not a great vid but heres mine to help explain it.