gavin pedley

thinking of starting up and have a million questions!
« on: July 12, 2010, 11:30:59 am »
Hi all i have not been on her for ages.

I am thinking of starting up in window cleaning (wfp) to eventually replace my current job. I currently work full time as a care worker for people with Autism as does my wife, our son also has Autism and this is why we want a change.

I did contact a company today that is a franchise i guess they provide van fuel water etc and you are still self employed BUT they take 50% commission on what you earn. so if i earn £1000 i only get £500 and is not as flexible as i need it to be.

I have been looking into window cleaning for some time now and think it would suit but still have many questions lol, so here goes.

1. I have no funds as yet for a van or system but was thinking maybe a business loan what sort of price would i be looking at for system (mostly domestic round) and what van should i be looking for, or do i really need a van? i don't really want to run a family car and van. Could a system be fitted in a car? where in uk can i get good priced system?

2. I need to work around dropping kids at school at 9.30am and picking them up again at 3.00pm could i earn enough in that time to replace what i currently earn £1000 a month?

3. Is window cleaning seasonal? do you loose money/custom in winter can you still do windows in the rain obviously in Cornwall it rains a lot in winter! which is where i am.

4. Does anyone here work in cornwall? what areas need a cleaner and what sort of prices are you charging down here?

I have three days off during the week which i could use to slowly build the business untill i got enough to go part time at work and eventually quit to do full time window cleaning

I am sure i had loads more questions than that but can't think of them now, sure they will come to me again.

dazmond

Re: thinking of starting up and have a million questions!
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2010, 03:06:38 pm »