williamx

SLX Review
« on: September 27, 2009, 07:26:07 pm »
I have been using this pole for the last 2 months and I thought I would give you my un-biased views and maybe improvements that can be made.

I already have the 60' SL2 which I use on higher commercial properties, in fact I have reached the dizzy heights of 84' and I am looking for that 100' building.

In the past I have used either Unger or Excel Poles for work upto 21', then the SL2 takes over.

Anyway after a long wait I ordered the SLX 25.

This pole is great for reaching any window on most domestic window cleaners books and is of for most low level commercial work.

The weight is ok, but the SL2 is a lot lighter and stiffer.

The clamps are rubbish, they are too fragile and need to be adjusted all the time. ( I do believe that a new clamp is coming to market soon).

The other major problem is that the pole hose gets dirty and transmits this to the inside of the pole, this them causes the pole to jam.

A solution to this problem would be for the pole hose to attached to the outside of the pole, and the way this can be done is either the pole clamp is modified or an eyelet is glued onto the clamp.

The other major bug bearer is the carbon fibre residue that come off the pole, maybe the pole could be treated with a sealent to prevent this.

You will also need to put on 'o' clips into the jets on the brushhead because these to seen to come off after time.

Overall this is a good pole but I personally feel that it can be improved.

ftp

Re: SLX Review
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2009, 07:38:52 pm »
I had some Loctite left over from the original clamps and use a drop on the latest clamps with plastic barrel nuts. Never need to adjust them now.

I like the idea of an eyelet on the outside - bit like the eyes on a conventional fishing rod. They would have to be super strong though but it would prevent the dirt on the inside of the pole.

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2009, 09:34:06 pm »