NBwcs

pure water damage
« on: June 30, 2008, 10:57:48 pm »
Anybody know if theres any evidence to suggest that pure water has a detremental effect to wood finishes ie stain or even paint come to that. A customer has just had theirs re done and has told me that "your water has pitted the wood " hence its been re stained. I of course went onto "autodefense" and denied any such thing could happen, (I have no idea what she meant by pitted, I certainly hadnt noticed it). She hasnt come to this conclusion by herself, im certain the decorator has given her the benefit of his vast knowledge of pure water cleaning, but it has set the old grey matter going.Ive been wfp for 14months now, so pesonally cant speak as to long term effects, any imput welcome boys, and girls of course.

Bazzy1999

Re: pure water damage
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2008, 11:23:44 pm »
Nick... many moons ago i used to be a Painter/Decorator and the only way you could get pitted paint finish is if the wood was already wet or damp when they painted it or there was some kind of greese on it already..
but saying that i did clean a door not that long ago and it took the shine off it.. it was a red wooden door with a very light varnish on it.....Painters a... never there fault..

Bazz...

Wayne Thomas

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2008, 11:25:50 pm »
De-ionised water accelerates the stripping of varnish, oiled stained wood and removal of flaky paint. It also rots the wooden sills quicker. Customers should maintain their window frames more periodically :)

maxwe11

« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2008, 11:28:35 pm »
if they used a quilaty paint i dout pure could do any damage
im a paint sprayer by trade at the mo

Bazzy1999

« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2008, 11:31:20 pm »
if they used a quilaty paint i dout pure could do any damage
im a paint sprayer by trade at the mo

What kind of paint sprayer??

maxwe11

« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2008, 11:35:09 pm »