Jay Le Huray

Over 70's
« on: August 20, 2022, 03:30:13 pm »
In 9 months time I will reach my 70th birthday,
I have been cleaning glass since about 1975 and still love my job, however I'm now finding it harder on my old body.

In the early days I was trad (the only way it could be done) and changed over to WFP about 17/18 years ago which was a god send especially when cleaning gutters and facias etc.
I built up a very good round and 5 years ago I was going to semi retire so I sold half of the business making things a bit easier for me but since then I have gained more and more customers so I'm now back to 5 days a week from 9am-2pm.

Not only have I gained more customers I also do lots of Gutter and Facias cleans for a mate as he is so busy he has no time to do them himself,

My wife who is a few years younger than me (64) will not get her pension for another 3 years which is the time I was thinking of retiring completely. However I have a great fear of staying at home and watching day time TV, it's just not me  as I have to have a reason for getting up every morning.

So will I retire in 3 years ? I'm really not sure, I think I may keep going until I can no longer pick up a pole, we will see.

Of of interest are there another other shiners on here over the age of 70? if yes please let me know how you are dealing with it.

As an after thought maybe I would need to take up a hope like fishing LOL

tlwcs

Re: Over 70's
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2022, 03:59:20 pm »
Stop taking on/ helping your mate out. He’s too busy and making you too busy.
I’m now 3 days a week, (60) doubt I’ll retire just do 2 days a week.
I bought an electric bike and enjoy getting out on that. I think you need to do something.
As long as you can and are happy to, keep doing a bit. But don’t flog yourself for a mate
Enjoy!

AuRavelling79

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2022, 04:05:54 pm »
I have been cleaning glass since about 1975 and still love my job, however I'm now finding it harder on my old body.