the red carpet

yellow pages
« on: September 07, 2005, 03:35:13 pm »
hi all,
im considering putting a ad in my local yellow pages had a meeting with one of there reps today
just wondered from your experience how much work you think this would bring me in it would be in the harlow,essex directory full colour about a quarter page ad costing around 2k plus vat, this is my first year in trading.

what could i expect to earn?
how regular could i expect enquiries?

Neil Grainger

Re: yellow pages
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2005, 04:58:21 pm »
Hi

Forget about the colour advert, go black on yellow and get larger advert and fill it with information. Colour is just a gimick, If you get between 10-15 to 1 you have done well from the yellow pages. remember location is important.

Regards

Neil

the red carpet

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2005, 06:23:10 pm »
10-15 to 1 ???
please explain

Neil Grainger

« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2005, 06:43:04 pm »
If you spend 2000 on a advert and get a return of £20000 or £30000 that is the 10-15 to 1 return.  Dont let them push you into the colour advert as yellow pages know nothing about carpet cleaning, see what the other are doing and get your ideas from that

Regards

Neil

venom

« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2005, 07:12:42 pm »
i am in yellow and thompson local but thmpson local wins by about 95-5 out of 100

the red carpet

« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2005, 10:18:15 pm »
thanks for your opinions guys,

neil, are you saying that thats a likely return then? and i think i need a colour ad as my logo is red and blue.

venom, i have looked through a lot of the old posts on this site and you seem to be the only one with that opinion but if it works for you then great.

Neil Grainger

« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2005, 07:27:21 am »