John Walker

Thinking seriously about it
« on: September 02, 2004, 09:38:23 pm »
I'm just short of 60 and in fair health.  I am currently a manager for a large oil company and the stress levels are getting frightening and too high for £23k p.a.  My background is in sales and customer service and I have no problem with the public - especially if they are going to pay me some money  ;D

Do you professionls feel the my age might be against me if I take the plunge.  Would probably try part time to start with - plan to practice further on some of the family windows. Have just bought some items from a supplier and couldn't believe how quick I managed my own house - it's always been a nightmare before - now i can't wait for them to get dirty again.  I like the idea of cleaning 2nd floor windows with an extension pole.

One last and probably very stupid question - what exactly is the scrim!
BaxWalker Window Cleaning

WavieDavie

Re: Thinking seriously about it
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2004, 02:47:18 am »
Hi BAXWALKER,

If you've been studying a few threads you'll recognise my handshake by now - read the welcome message on either of the window cleaning boards, fill in your profile and signature, and welcome!

the stress levels are getting frightening and too high for £23k p.a.
With four weeks off per year, that works out to £96 per day, and if you work eight hours, that's £12 an hour - easily achievable I think. In fact, if you're happy to stay at the same income level, I'm sure you can drop a few hours of toil per week. I work six hours a day.

My background is in sales and customer service and I have no problem with the public - especially if they are going to pay me some money  
Terrific - you already know that you're selling yourself first and your service second.

Do you professionls feel the my age might be against me if I take the plunge.
Not at all - just go for it - age doesn't matter, the quality of service you provide does.