DanielWelford

How long does it take.
« on: October 14, 2007, 04:15:32 pm »
Hi

Another of those silly questions, but here goes.

I do a lot of carpet and oven cleaning, but keep getting asked about general cleaning. So thought okay, as some of my existing staff have a bit of experience in this.

I propose to charge an hourly rate, but because I have little experience in this field, I dont know how long a job will take. Any rough timings, i.e 2 bed house 2 hours etc etc.

Any help wuld be greatly appreciated.

Dan

Bertie Boo

Re: How long does it take.
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2007, 04:59:11 pm »
Dan

It isnt a silly question BUT its one to which there is no certain answer.

Having and hourly rate is one thing, but what one person can do in one hour will be different to what another can, plus there are so many other factors to consider, principly what state the house is in from the outset and what state it's in everytime you go to clean it.

I have seen a few companies who charge by the number of bedrooms and this confuses me greatly. I clean a 7 bedroom house every fortnight and yet it is amongst the houses that takes the least amount of time BECAUSE all i have to do is quickly clean 2 bathrooms, bit of dusting, occasionaly clean a bedroom, and the rest is all vacuuming and floor mopping, of which there is plenty to do. However, having all my own cleaning things means i can do this very quickly and the house is always tidy when i get there.

Your question is a very hard one to answer. All i know is that i -like a lot of 'big' companies (of which i am not, big i mean)- we charge an agreed fee then work our asses off to make sure the task list is done as quickly and satisfactory as possible.