tom smith

Steppin on toes
« on: October 08, 2010, 07:34:01 pm »
Hello lads

Good forum here.

I am thinking about setting up business and plan on building a round from scratch. I hear that the proper way to do things is buying a round and not building up one from scratch as most window cleaners don't take kindly to having somebody nicking their business. Heard a couple of horror stories on another forum about people getting their vans smashed up and beaten

Any truth in this? I am new to the business so not aware or proper etiquette and how its normally done, I don't see a problem with knocking on doors for business but is this naughty?

cheers

Paul Coleman

Re: Steppin on toes
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2010, 07:39:28 pm »
Hello lads

Good forum here.

I am thinking about setting up business and plan on building a round from scratch. I hear that the proper way to do things is buying a round and not building up one from scratch as most window cleaners don't take kindly to having somebody nicking their business. Heard a couple of horror stories on another forum about people getting their vans smashed up and beaten

Any truth in this? I am new to the business so not aware or proper etiquette and how its normally done, I don't see a problem with knocking on doors for business but is this naughty?

cheers

Shouldn't be a problem so long as you avoid quoting if someone already has a window cleaner.
If someone has a genuine problem with their window cleaner other than price (e.g. crap job, bad attitude, unreliable etc) then I would probably quote.  I won't try to undercut though - partly because that would be a customer who would dump me when the next cheaper one came along.

Ian Lancaster

« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2010, 07:45:13 pm »
Some people have strange ideas ::)

Window cleaning is a business, like any other.  Can you see Sainsbury's worrying about setting up a store in the same town as Tesco?