holly

New Year, New Job
« on: December 29, 2007, 05:54:57 pm »
After many many years working as a nurse I have made the decision to totally change direction. I want to work for myself and as I enjoy cleaning and I like physical work I would like to set up a domestic cleaning service. I want to work alone and just concentrate on peoples homes. What I'd like to know is do I need only public liability insurance and is it possible to make a living in this way. By make a living I mean build it up to earn at least £600 per month or am I being unrealistic to think I can do that. I am prepared to work hard both in marketing and cleaning. I have left my job and my savings are enough to last 6 months. I don't feel I've taken a risk because if it came to it I could easily find work again in nursing as I have contacts. I have read all the postings on marketing etc. and plan to start in the new year. Any advice would be welcome

Joe H

Re: New Year, New Job
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2007, 03:39:59 pm »
Hi Holly
You have not indicated in your profile where abouts in the country you are, and that does matter as some areas you will be able to command a higher rate per job then other areas.
You should be able to get £12 per hour and possibly more. So thats 50 hours per month, but that is of course turnover and you may mean £600 wafes in your pocket per month.

Public Liability - I dont think it is mandatory (I'll stand corrected on that) but certainly is a good selling point when advertising or talking to a potential customer. Also good if you forget to turn a bath tap off and leave and the ceiling collapses!

If you are good (and liking cleaning is a good start) then you should be able to expand to the level you want very quickly - people talk if they find something good.
Suggest you get yourself some leaflets done and get them distributed, you can do this yourself if you have no job at the moment.
Local shop windows are good for you too.