Andy Hogarth

Working at heights
« on: July 27, 2006, 11:24:29 am »
Hello, I'm not a window cleaner by trade but have been asked if I would consider doing a one off for a local office block I deliver to on my postal round.

I am unsure as to what height I can legally work to from a ladder as this is the way I'd be doing it.

The highest windows are about 30 ft high, The height doesn't bother me as I used to be a roofing labourer, I'd just like to know if, with the regulation in place I am legally allowed to work at these heights off a ladder or if I should pass it on to someone with a wfp system.

Any advice/info would be appreciated

Thanks

Andy
Www.2venturegroup.com

poleman

Re: Working at heights
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2006, 12:01:55 pm »
BH this is what is so bad about are industry, 30ft, no insurance, no RA, moon lighters, sooner they get out of our industry and leave it to the hard working pros the better.   

Andy

Andy Hogarth

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2006, 12:33:10 pm »
Poleman, like I said it's a one off, I'll be doing it through an aquaintances cleaning business as he has the foyer and toilets contract, I don't know if his insurance will cover it but I'll look into it.

I'm not trying to wind anyone up, I just wanted some advice, A simple walk away it's not worth it would have sufficed if thats the case.

I've cleaned windows (houses) before and have experience working at heights and this is the only reason I considered doing it, I wanted to check if the height was a problem.

If it's not worth me doing (and I need the extra cash) Then I'll leave it to the hard working pros but if theres a legit way I can do it then of course I will.

Andy
Www.2venturegroup.com

ronaldo

« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2006, 12:35:45 pm »
Andy, stick to delivering letters mate its alot safer !
A bad days fishing is better than a good days work !

Andy Hogarth

« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2006, 12:41:54 pm »
ha ha, Yeah I think thats the best case ronaldo