hank jr

Advice for a new window cleaner please
« on: May 03, 2011, 08:16:24 pm »
Hi all im new here and im new to window cleaning. i was collecting and canvassing for a good mate but him and his business partner are going through a dilemma at the moment over who owns how much of the business etc etc. this has put me out a job to cut a long story short. so ive decided to go it alone, ive canvassed some work up and bought all my gear and im on a crash course for learning window cleaning . I start working this coming monday.... i feel quite nervous because some customers have lead strip windows and im not sure how to deal with them.... has anyone got any tips to learn me quickly.... Thanks in advance

GB Window Cleaning

Re: Advice for a new window cleaner please
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2011, 09:27:20 pm »
just use scrim mate, wet scrim first then buff up with your dry scrim, also price abit higher for leaded glass as it takes abit longer!

hank jr

« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2011, 09:40:42 pm »
just use scrim mate, wet scrim first then buff up with your dry scrim, also price abit higher for leaded glass as it takes abit longer!

Hey thanks for sharing the tip - really appreciate it. i was just going to use a spray bottle and a microfibre cloth. is this just as good?

GB Window Cleaning

« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2011, 06:51:34 am »
ive never seen anyone using a spray bottle mate, sounds like too much effort probably! your better off with a proper windys belt including a bucket on a belt, squeegy and t-bar applicator, and in your pouch(s) dry and wet scrim.

the first clean on leaded, clean the frame with your damp cloth first then soap the  leaded glass up (go over the glass twice on first clean too) then take off most of the moistier with your damp scrim, then finally buff up with your dry!

thats what i do

on maintenance cleans there after just wet wipe frames, wet glass with damp scrim then shine/buff up with your dry scrim!