micsampip

:) Hi again,

I've got  a dilemma, as I am just starting out I wondered which direction would be safest:

1) domestic and commercial cleaning, which will give a regular income, or

2) one off cleans, like builders, house moving and end of tenancy cleans

3) I am also wondering whether to employ on a casual basis, i.e. the staff would be self employed or to take them on the payroll.

If anyone can help I would be grateful.

P.S:
4) is it wise to get a business loan for a van and equipment etc or would it be better to start as a one man band and grow slowly?

Thanks again

Lisa  ;)

dennis buller

from my point of view,
just finished my second week, i am starting small with three hours canvassing a week in the evenings and cleaning domestic. i have learned quite a lot in window cleaning now from hands on and my round grows day by day. one of my customers when i go back next month wants his guttering cleaned so i am doing that on top of the fee for window cleaning. i got told told when it comes to bussiness make the money to invest back into the bussiness, saves loans etc. hope this has helped
DENNIS

micsampip

:) Thanks Dennis, yes it has helped.

I've got three young children so I would really like to start a small concern, learn the nuts and bolts of running the business and grow it as my family gets older.

I was told by the business advisor not to do the cleaning, employ good people to do it and I should concentrate on developing the business. This I agree with, but at the very beginning I think it's important to know which products work best, how long certain tasks take, what it is like to clean in someones home etc etc.

I'm not keen in taking a loan until I know more about the business, done market research, have written a business plan and have the time to commit to growing the business.

Thanks Dennis

Good Luck in you new venture

Lisa  ;)

Jan K

Hi Lisa!