The Jester of Wibbly

Hot Brakes on your Van
« on: February 26, 2019, 01:21:22 pm »
Anyone noticed they are getting hot brake discs on you van?   I noticed mine were hot after i went to wash my front wheel it started steaming.    I took it to my brake centre who said my pads and discs are in great condition but thought the discs were hotter than normal from his experience.   Its not sticking callipers as the pads are not wearing so he was a little unsure why.

So think it might be how we use our vans with lot of  residential driving.  I am not hard on my brakes either as i am a steady driver.
Claim your 50% off your mobile payment card reader with Sum Up.  http://fbuy.me/f7Ve3

Martin Lane

Re: Hot Brakes on your Van
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2019, 02:27:15 pm »
i had this on a traffic van mainly the left had side front wheel so hot you could not touch it, i had new calipers put on and still the same, l think in the end they replaced the master brake cylinder and this sorted it out,

The Jester of Wibbly

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2019, 02:37:13 pm »
i had this on a traffic van mainly the left had side front wheel so hot you could not touch it, i had new calipers put on and still the same, l think in the end they replaced the master brake cylinder and this sorted it out,

Thanks. Mines a trafic too. 

How much did it cost you?
Claim your 50% off your mobile payment card reader with Sum Up.  http://fbuy.me/f7Ve3

Martin Lane

« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2019, 02:50:02 pm »
To be honest not sure off the top of my head £200 - £300
l am no mechanic but if i remember there is a way they can test  to see if the brake master cylinder is working properly, think mine was not releasing the brakes properly  on one side

cleaniac

« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2019, 04:15:37 pm »
This is a joke thread right?

All brakes get hot, it's a normal part of operation.

dazmond

« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2019, 04:21:38 pm »
This is a joke thread right?