Jim_77

Price this up...
« on: February 01, 2012, 03:15:01 pm »
Normally I don't get involved in discussions on pricing, as it is such a complex and varied beast.

But my blood is boiling at the moment. I've just received a very begrudgingly written cheque from an old customer.

I've been working for her for over 6 years - Married couple in their 50s, big house, two Mercedes in the garage plus a run-around for shopping, basically the type with plenty of money who don't mind showing it.

Just before Christmas she booked me in, and as usual gave me a big list of jobs to do. It's always on the basis of just sending the bill afterwards, which has never ever been a problem.

However this time she phoned up saying it was an unbelievably high amount. I think this is actually a case where the TM has worked against me because although I managed the work in one day (9.30 - 5.30 with barely a break) it would have been at least a day and a half with a portable.

I've done all of the items below on previous visits over the last few years and I haven't increased the individual prices of them over that time either.

I wrote a very polite letter to her explaining this, plus the fact that the TM meant I got it all done in one day rather than two... she wrote a letter back basically insulting me by inferring I'm "just a cleaner" and the rates are very high "for the type of work involved"

So let's see how people would price up this work excluding VAT:

Ercol suite (mostly cushions, a bit less work than a standard suite)
    Protector applied to suite
    8x5 pure wool Tibetan rug, cleaned & protected
    9x3 Persian runner, cleaned & protected
    400ft² 80/20 cut pile carpet (downstairs hall & upstairs bedroom)
    Protector applied to carpet
    Roughly 10m² Amtico flooring, stripped & sealed

Bundled in to the deal as part of my special offer at the time, she also receive FREE:

5L neutral floor cleaner
    500ml trigger spray of carpet & upholstery spotter