TopGlass

Spare Jobs
« on: July 18, 2005, 05:41:48 pm »
Hi all,

Have been reading topics on here for a few months now, and thought it was about time to post something!

I've been working for myself for about 3 or 4 months and everything started great with regular jobs coming in thick and fast. But I've seem to have hit a brick wall.

I've been canvassing hard but it appears I've suddenly got alot of competition, with people saying, oh I've just got a new w/c and we've had one for a while, he's not brilliant but he's regular!!! It's really starting to bug me!!!!

The other annoying thing is that I'll pick up a few in a street, and then canvass hoping to get a few more, only to be  ???told, oh there's some guy who does the whole estate!!!!

So my real question is -  Is there anyone in the Northampton area who wants to get rid of a few jobs, cause if I carry on like this I won't have anything to live on?

Any help is much appreciated!!

Darren

Darren Cordial

Walter Pole

Re: Spare Jobs
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2005, 06:07:55 pm »
Darren  Don't give up, there is always more work to gain.  It's just Perseverance so long as your expections are not too high in this initial stage.  Sorry I don't have any work in Northampton to sell you but would advise against EVER buying work..it's there to be had.
taking panes to exceed expectations

Roy Harding

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2005, 06:11:06 pm »
Hi Darren

Window cleaning is a funny game, you seem to go through patches of picking up a lot of work, then for no reason you seem to get a slack period.

As for the person that says there is a window cleaner that does the whole eastae, he proberly does a few, call on every house as he proberbly dosnt. Also if they do have a window cleaner, leave a card and say if he lets you down give me a call. And never under cut his price, there is only one winner when you start that the customer.

So stay positive as you will come across clusters of houses that dont have a window cleaner

Roy :)