Adam P

quoting for an office which TUPE could apply
« on: November 21, 2010, 07:03:48 pm »
we've been asked to quote to clean a smallish office and need some advice as this would be our first dealing with TUPE and it's something i'm very scared of.

There is currently 1 cleaner for just 2 hours working every work day between 6am-8am.

although it's only a small amount i'm completely new to TUPE and have no clue what to do with quoting (will i need to increase price slightly to cover any potential TUPE problems) as well as what information we need to know to take this any further. I didn't ask the owner of the office anything about it as i didn't know at the time if i need to know anything more so have limlited information about this.

when i submit my quote will i need to ask for details of the last cleaning company so i can get in touch if i am successful? do  ineed to know anything? i assume it's ok to provide a quote and then state that this quote does not take into account TUPE which could increase the price?

i'm worried that although we shouldn't lose it and the business wont go out of business but we'll be stuck with any issues from previous employment.

also a little off topic: do people ever go back to the client and ask more questions after doing a site visit if they realise something isn't cleared? e.g. this customer asked for hand towels and toilet rolls, however they never mentioned the hand soap. i may just give the price for this so not so bad but in past i've had other thoughts and held back from asking more questions after i've visited the site as it feels amatuerish.

garyj

Re: quoting for an office which TUPE could apply
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2010, 01:15:38 am »
Why does TUPE increase the price  ???

Adam P

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2010, 01:27:02 am »