domestic bliss

When to take on staff!
« on: January 31, 2006, 06:59:29 pm »
Apologies if you have covered this subject allready.
I have been cleaning houses on my own for 2 years i currently work within school hours as i have kids.
I have as much work as i can handle and i have a member of the family helping me 1 day a week for 5 hours she helps me get 2 big houses done in that day.  Problem is that i am unable to fit in one off cleans etc as i am to busy obviously i am missing out but i cannot afford to afford another person doing the same hours as me as i will end up taking a drop in wages untill i get more work in.
So really i am in a bit of a dilemma.  When did you start taking on staff and did you just give them a few hours here and there.
If i get extra work i can't do it untill i have more staff and if i have more staff i have to get the extra work and how do i afford extra staff if i have a quiet time???? ???

busydaffodil

Re: When to take on staff!
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2006, 07:39:22 pm »
You have sort of answered your own question.    If your unable to take a cut in hours/wages by employing someone until more work comes in, then your in a difficult situation.

Realistically, you will need to cover wages, extra insurances, any PAYE employer contributions, etc.   There are all the Health & Safety issues to look into & then you have 3 or 4 weeks per year paid holidays to cover.   Additionally, you also need to employ someone trustworthy & reliable - an unsuitable member of staff can do your business more harm than good.

I have opted to stay as I am though I could easily expand.  (recently gave up 1 of my businesses as I just didnt want the stress or work).  I choose NOT to take on more staff.  I choose not to expand my business more.    If I could do less, I would!  In my opinion, life isnt about how much money we earn, its just something we do to earn some money to allow us to enjoy the rest of our life.