Steve Gunn

Why Do We Think We Are Worth So Much
« on: August 14, 2010, 09:56:51 am »
Speaking to various trades people recently they struggled to come to terms with how much I charge,lad who did my decking charged me £150 for two and a half days work and he had a helper,garage charged me £40 for fitting brake shoes and wheel cylinder after explaining I was a mechanic asked why I wasn't doing it myself I told him I could make more money cleaning carpets.Painter just decorated my 3 bedrooms,lounge and staircase £150 3+ days.Now most days I aim for £250 a day without killing myself 2 or 3 jobs some days its more others it less

So what makes us able to justify our charges?Or why do we think we can justify our prices?

M.Acorn

Re: Why Do We Think We Are Worth So Much
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2010, 10:04:00 am »
Not sure,but i think if it did go boobies up,you could do a lot of money`s worth of damage in a day !
New decent carpets are a big investment,cleaning them makes them last longer,and i suppose if you weigh up the cost of cleaning as opposed to replacing,then it`s not so much ?
What goes around comes around

wynne jones

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2010, 10:27:17 am »
If you are charging more than you are worth you will soon find out.

It's not expensive, you just can't afford it.

andrew christopher

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2010, 12:07:45 pm »
Speaking to various trades people recently they struggled to come to terms with how much I charge,lad who did my decking charged me £150 for two and a half days work and he had a helper,garage charged me £40 for fitting brake shoes and wheel cylinder after explaining I was a mechanic asked why I wasn't doing it myself I told him I could make more money cleaning carpets.Painter just decorated my 3 bedrooms,lounge and staircase £150 3+ days.Now most days I aim for £250 a day without killing myself 2 or 3 jobs some days its more others it less