Jobloox

tips on starting a carpet cleaning service
« on: November 21, 2004, 06:43:39 pm »
Hello, and forgive me if this topic has already been flogged to death...but I have just bought a karcher and hope to start a small carpet/upholstery cleaning business.
I have no experience but I do tend to try hard and end up becoming good at most things.
I will be printing my own cards (shop windows) and trying the offices and small hotels in my area
 I intend to use my own carpet , and some pals as testers.
Is there any standard pricing rule?
Should I be prepared to have to empty rooms of furniture or is the standard practise to have the room empty before i begin?
Is there any notorious pitfalls to watch out for/
Does any one know of anything I should look into before I start?
I have very broad shoulders and I can take advice and criticism and all imput will be gratefully accepted

The Great One

Re: tips on starting a carpet cleaning service
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2004, 06:49:18 pm »
Hi

Jesus!

Prepare yourself my friend, as I feel with that post you may of left yourself wide open for a barrage.

Please sit down before you scroll down to any more posts and...

Brace yourself!

Regards

Martin 8)

Len Gribble

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2004, 07:10:46 pm »
I sing and talk to myself when doing cc have been advised by some and I also have broad shoulders, don’t give up day time job, but if you feel that you are the bees knees with that equipment go for it

Martin is that enough or should I go in hard and tell what a load of !!!

Len
Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other. (Sidcup Kent)

paul@ctcs

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2004, 08:52:58 pm »
Jobloox,

Your going the wrong way about starting in a business which isnt as straight forward as it may appear.
The 1st thing you need to do is get some training from ncca, prochem, alltec, iicrc, etc