tracey

watch out for these people!!!
« on: September 08, 2004, 11:49:36 pm »
i have been running a cleaning company for three years now, and have just been burnt very badly.
i recenty employed two people one a local school mum katie bird and the other her friend paul schofield everything referances etc, were fine i took paul on a self employed baisis and things seemed fine he then gave me notice to quit very quickly.
and then that was it letters bombarded in of custmers saying they were fininshing etc, a day later i learned that  paul had took it upon himself to start a cleaning company pinching my customers, and the ones he did'nt want causing chaos by not turnng up and doing a rubbish job.
The thing is none of the customers complained at the time so i could'nt rectify the problems that he and she had caused.
It is just amazing how some people can be charmed by these people!, belive me he had lots of charm and im just sending a word of warning  to all those looking to employ staff be very carful that this does not happen to you.

martin19842

Re: watch out for these people!!!
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2004, 01:57:07 am »
this is a difficult lesson to learn, i do have some advise that may be appreciated or not.

1. firstly take aperformance bond from your cleaning staff whether they are self employed or employed.

2. the more effective way to manage this, is to put a clause in both the client and employee (or self employted contract) restricting trade.

therefore in the client agreement, you would insert a term specifying that should and when the client terminates the contract, they arenot allowed to employ either directly or indirectly staff connected with your company.

and in your staff agreements, stipulate that should they leave your employ, then they are not allowed to approach or try to procure the business of your clients.