captain lard

Georgian windows
« on: June 06, 2006, 07:45:00 pm »
Hello folks - picked up a job today but the front of the house has those georgian windows with lots of little panes divided up by the frame.(In fact have to go and quote for another house with the same sort of design and have hesitated cos I have no experience of this type of window)
How do other people approach these,my normal method is applicator,squeegee and tidy up with a microfibre but am wondering what the best way is with little panes approx 5 or 6 inches square,might be smaller.
My initial thought was to wet the glass with a wet cloth rather than an applicator and to then either use a squeegee specifically cut down for the size of glass or use a shammy or maybe scrim or thinking on the microfibre might work.
Any thoughts,experiences or tips greatly appreciated

Sir Squeaky

Re: Georgian windows
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2006, 07:58:52 pm »
Hi Lard.
In my experience, and I've tried lots of ways....
The best way is to buy a good spray solution, Tesco's own brand appears to be best.

Just a few mists of that, depending how dirty it is, and buff to a shine with your scrim or microfibre. ;)

Using a wet cloth then dry with no cleaning fluid will leave smudges.
You may not see them at first, but look at the right angle and it won't be perfect.
Particularly if they're done in the sun. :-\

If you find it difficult at first or they're really bad, then cut down a squeegee to small enough to fit in the panes.
Then simply take the cover off your applicator and wash into the corners well.
Wipe around the edges with a wet cloth and squeegee.

Hope this helps.
Cheers, Rog.

jeff1

« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2006, 08:22:00 pm »
Hi Rog

I do a lot of georgian the traditional way, two ways, first is with wet cloth (I use the beer mats they used to have on bars) as my wet cloth, then I use two scrims, 1st to take the water back off, and the second to polish the glass,