UK Window Cleaning Forum > Frequently Asked Questions & Useful Resources

been at it for 3 months now

(1/4) > >>

matt:
this is my story  :)

we have just had a baby, and me and my mrs wanted to both work part time, and bring up our little girl  :) (im a carpenter by trade, and i packed my job in, as i was unable to work just 3 days for this firm)

so i work, mon - tue - wed, and my wife works thurs - fri - sat

my mother in laws partner has been doing window cleaning for about 2 years now, at the same time as me finishing work, he broke his arm and leg (not on a ladder, but fell off a kids skate board)

He does domestic work, houses and bungalows

He was earning roughly 100 quid a day, 9ish to 4.30ish (at roughly 9 quid a house)

I have taken over his round (well he is now back doing downstairs while i do the ladder work)

We are currently earning 60 quid a day each, so 120 a day between us (of course he is slow because of his ankle, and im slow because i havent the speed yet which only time gives you)

I have seen posts on here saying about earning 30 quid a hour, and some saying they can do 25 3bed homes between 9 and 3, 25 homes in 6 hours

any advice on how to speed up ?????

we mop the fairy and water on, squegee it off, and then wipe around the window with a scrim cloth (this is how most do it around here

Now from a beginner, i have noticed we spend a fair amount of time wiping around the window frames   :(

I have seen window cleaning solutions online...is this better than fairy liquid ?????

i have also seen the SqueegeeMate....is this any good ??????....will it save me time ?????

any other advice ??????

Majestic:
Hi Mat