stuartb

Split charge relay problem
« on: October 01, 2019, 10:17:12 pm »
Just fitted a Durite  relay.  The red light on the front is always on even when the  ignition and engine are off.  When you start the engine it clicks twice as the red light goes of and comes back on on the second click.  Also.  Battery terminals don't seem to get warm.  Have disconnected it as I think it may flatten my van battery.

Don't suppose anyone can help.  I'm no electrician and am  keen to get it working.

Any help appreciated,
Stu

RPCCS

Re: Split charge relay problem
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2019, 11:10:29 pm »
There may be an adjustment screw on it somewhere, and if there is , turn it anti clockwise and see if light goes off. What I did was fit a standard 4 pin relay, that only comes on with the ignition. The relay should cost no more than a fiver and is easy to fit. Plenty of diagrams on google. The relay works by switching between the ignition live, and the auxiliary battery. From pin 86, to ignition live,  85 to body earth,30 to permanant live via 30 amp inline fuse, and 87 to the live of the pump battery. Note that the pump battery needs to connected to a body earth too.
Cheers Rich

wayne m

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2019, 06:35:22 am »
You should have had instructions with it and that happened to me but if I remember right when I checked it stay on for a bit when ignition off  I think it’s due to it cuts off when the input drops below 12.65 volts  so won’t drain batteries Ive had mine for a couple of years and no problems anI’ll try and find my instructions for you if you’ve lost yours.

stuartb

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2019, 10:04:59 am »
Cheers Wayne,
I've noticed this morning, if when I turn the engine off I turn the lights and radio on and wait ten seconds it turns the relay off.
Do your battery terminals get warm when its charging? Mine don't.  Working today so ill see if it does the job or runs out of juice.

wayne m