DaveG

4040 problem?
« on: September 26, 2021, 01:19:47 pm »
Hi all, first post for a while. I hope all is good with you all.

Right, the problem. I've been using a pumped 4040 (80psi) for the last 3 years and I've got through 3 membranes, The latest one has only lasted since March this year. When first installed, it got the tds down from 360 to 009, now it's only getting it down to 062. I read of some people having membranes that last 3 or 4 years?

I flush every 3 days or so and change the two 20" pre filters every 3 months. I usually produce around 8/900 litres a day, 5 days a week.

Any suggestions on anything to do/change or could it be down to rubbish membranes? I'm paying around £150 a time for them..

You can't polish a turd

Perfect Windows

Re: 4040 problem?
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2021, 04:50:17 pm »
If there's even a hint of slipperiness inside your 4040 housing, you have bacterial growth in there. I'd suspect that, given your description, that's the problem you have. A fresh membrane will solve the problem until it's fouled by bacteria. Flushing will do nothing as the bacteria stick like glue.

Take all the pre filters out, the carbon and the particle and your knackered membrane (throw it in the bin). Try to set your 4040 at an angle so it will be full to the brim with water when water starts to come out of the waste/pure outlets (i.e. so there isn't an airlock in there).  Fill the filter vessels with water (again so no airlocks), reconnect all hoses and find yourself a big bucket. Pour 2L or 4L (it's only 19p a bottle) of thin bleach* into the bucket and top it up with water.

Dip the connector that's normally attached to your tap into the bucket. If it's too far away, run a length of hose to it, connect it and dip the other end of that into the bucket.

Put the waste and pure outlets into the bucket.