Steve.D

Smears and dry blade lines
« on: August 18, 2005, 05:53:04 pm »
Cleaned a four bedroom detached today inside and out. When checking over, the odd window had a dried blade line or smears around the edges. Should i use bone dry scrim for detailing and polishing, the scrim I was using was slightly damp. It was a very sunny day, could this have anything to do with it. At the time they looked perfect and when I stood back the windows were gleaming. The shaded side of the house looked ok. I'm thinking that direct sunlight on a window tends to show up any defects more than if it were shaded. Any logical solutions for next time or am I being too fussy/paranoid ? Is there such thing as a perfectly cleaned window. By the way I am still a novice, but not doing to badly at the moment, first week this week.

Steve

Roy Harding

Re: Smears and dry blade lines
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2005, 06:07:43 pm »
Clean dry scrims will help, or wipe around the edges first then squeegee off and dont touch again.

On very hot days plenty of water and squeegee of fast as u can.

Roy :)

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2005, 06:17:23 pm »
Yep, thats it Roy.
 Try Unger soft rubber in squeegee. 
These things are trial and error, trick is.. find out what works, don't give up.  At least we don't get too many boiling hot days, things get easier.
Pj

Moderator David@stives

« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2005, 07:11:12 pm »
i have noticed that on certain days the glass attracts the fibre out of the scrim like a magnet . and squeegie turns.
there are so many variables.
1 .temperature of glass/squeegie /water/scrim.
2. density of water /soap as water is most dense at 5 degrees
       above and below this temp =less dence .
3. amount of dirt on window and in applicater and water bucket.
4.type of glass and scrim and squeegie rubber
5.the weather .windspeed /direction /temperature/amount 
      sunshine /humidity   /air pressure   
6.age of squeegie rubber   .angle of sunlight