MWCS

setting up again!!!!!
« on: April 25, 2006, 02:49:15 pm »
Well I've finally decided i'm gonna take the plunge and set up my own window cleaning business (again cough cough)

I'm currently a sky engineer, fitting sky digital, aerials and big screens into pubs. It's a great job but the hours are crazy. I'm working 6 sometimes 7 days a week starting at 7am and finishing any time between 6pm and 11pm.

At least when i was window cleaning i got a family life as well.

Anyway my plan is to target a 50 50 split between domestic and commercial work but this time price them right, from the start, (no more 3 pound semis !!!)

I know most of you say door knocking is the quickest way but i simply haven't got the time. What are your thoughts about a leaflet drop with a local paper?

Has anyone else done this, if so did it work for you?

Re: setting up again!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2006, 03:11:00 pm »
Hi MWCS

Welcome back to our world!!!  :)

To answer your question quickly. Tried it... it didnt work :(

You would be far better off maybe getting family members etc to drop them for you. That way they dont get buried along with the rest that go out with the local rag. And.. keep repeating it regularly. All the best mate  !!!  :)

Andrew

craig jwc

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2006, 06:13:41 pm »
If i ever put flyers out i get the kids to do it.

It only cost me a McFlurry from McDonalds ;D ;D ;D

Craig 8)

Londoner

« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2006, 06:30:54 pm »
Leaflets are slow but they do work - eventually. The trick for me is not to overdo it and end up getting fed up and disillusioned. About 100 to 150 a night, every night is better than trying to blitz it.

billozz

« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2006, 09:04:19 pm »
what about that company that ive heard of...they are called doorknockers i think they guarantee to get you business in whatever area you need it ...not sure what they cost but it may be a quick way of getting a reasonable round up and running