Carpet Cleaning Issues - Carpet construction, upholstery cleaning, stain removal, equipment, events, etc.

Customer satisfaction
Posted by stevej (stevej), 26 January 2004
I'm new to this game (first post - great forum!!). How often does everybody get dissatisfied customers (never they all shout!) - are peoples expectations sometimes too high.
I cleaned a filthy old playroom carpet covered in stains (spent 1.50hours on stains) - looked ok -milion times better than when I started and customer seemed happy enough. Had to go back to look at small problem in another room and customer expressed disatisfaction with playroom. Have agreed to clean it again (she's a neighbour!)
Do you often turn down jobs because you know you will be fighting a losing battle or are you always confident that you can do enough to keep the customer satisfied.  
Posted by woodman (woodman), 26 January 2004
Hi Steve

welcome to the forum you will enjoy your time on here I am sure.

This is the age old problem steve, customer expectations and your magic wand not performing as the customer expected Roll Eyes

In answer to your question you might be surprised to know that experienced cleaners do infact get very few complaints, this is because we would have inspected nearly every job before hand and if,like in your instance, it was obvious there could  be a problem we would get a pre- understanding with the customer and if thats not acceptable then your right I might turn it down (although I can't remember the last time we turned away a job for this reason)

With your job I would have informed her of the likely outcome and taken the job on that basis, if after there is a complaint and it's justified then I would clean again.If it's clear that there would be no benefit from an additional clean as I had achieved all that I possibly could, then it's pay up time I'm afraid.     Wink

Posted by Northerclean (Alex), 26 January 2004
Hi Steve,

Welcome aboard fella.