Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

Starting a window cleaning business - Equipment you need, suppliers to use and trade organisations to join, etc.

How big is your pointer?

Posted by Rob_B (Rob_B), 21 October 2003
Hello all,

I've been making do with bog standard ladders for a year now, and after a lot of uming and aring I am going to buy a pointer.

I was looking at a set 2.05 metres closed 5.33 metres fully extended. ( sorry oldies, I haven't a clue how big that is in old money)

i mostly do residential a lot of bay windows.
Does this size sound about right, or will they be too big and bulky.
What's a safe height to go up to on a pointer, I have never used one before?
Posted by STEVE71163 (Steve Lowe), 21 October 2003
Hi Rob,
         I mostly use a 3.66m (Double 12ft) and this is fine for most residential jobs.

Hope this Helps!

Steve
Cheers Steve,

Hmm thats even bigger than what I was looking at which I thought might be too big and clumsy. Quite a bit of difference in price too. Any idea why pointers are so dear?
Posted by STEVE71163 (Steve Lowe), 21 October 2003
Hi Rob,
         No i don't know why they are so much more expensive but i would not be without one because they are so much safer on uneven ground and they can get where a standard ladder can not.

Steve Lowe
Yes,

I have noticed a lot of people mention that they are safer which is why I'm going to purchase one. thanks for your time.
Posted by shinnyshinner (shinnyshinner), 21 October 2003
Hi Rob
when you say pointers do you mean A-frame ladders
Cheers Alan
Hi alan,

Yes I do mean A frame ladders, I said pointer because the ladders I'm getting are called a Monarch Wooden Pointer by Titan.
Posted by shinnyshinner (shinnyshinner), 21 October 2003
Hi Rob