Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

Starting a window cleaning business - Equipment you need, suppliers to use and trade organisations to join, etc.

Scrims and Huck towels

Posted by JohnM1 (JohnM1), 17 December 2003
Hi guys,

I'm new to this window cleaning game and it's going well, but I am a little confussed, can you guys give me some advice.

Just about to buy some new cloths, but whats the difference between Huck towels and Scrims and what are they used for?

How many should I buy of each and what type, Washed/unwashedHuh?  

Thanks guys

John

Posted by denzle (denzle), 17 December 2003
John,
Huck towels are useful things to carry but their use is limited, basically they are blue cotton surgical towels that have been used a few times, they are cleaned and sold on to people like us. I can only liken the material to the roller type towels that you find in some pub loos.
Each towel is about 20" x 14" and hemmed all round.
If your going to buy some get about 20. They soak the water, but are wet and unusable quite quickly. They are brilliant in the summer, 2 of these will keep you going all day
Scrim on the other hand comes in 36" x 36" which is way to big for me, so i have mine cut in half, hemmed all round then boil the hell outa them a few time before they are any good. I would say buy about 5 or so and get them halved and hemmed. Scrim is good once it has been worn in.
With that many cloths you will be able to work all day at the very least ( Pos 2 ) without running out of dry detailing cloth.
Hope this helps
Denzle
Posted by denzle (denzle), 17 December 2003
John,